top of page

Growing Pains

Updated: May 13, 2018

A poem by Christopher Palmiotto.


Livable,

smell the air

strawberries have something to say,

it’s a concern.

There was somebody, in the field

he knelt down

said he doesn’t know how to feel

the stars at night.

Under dim moonlight

he felt scared,

said others are near,

they keep him up at night.

Gave him a good fright

said he shot in the dark

and missed his mark.

All it took was a walk

with an open ear

to listen to a tree

that whispered slight remarks.

It made him feel normal

in a world that burned,

he regained his moral.

Those things don’t scare this young man

he realized when working with his hands,

that the soil had a lot to say

that the strawberry grew during the day.


Biography:

My name is Christopher Palmiotto, I am a sophomore at University of Maine at Machias. I began writing poetry when I was a teenager to cope with life’s ups and downs. I came to Maine when I was nineteen, and since then have had many adventures within Maine and outside of the state. In the process, traveling has helped me form who I am and what I stand for, internally and externally.

bottom of page